Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ

Today’s daily prompt is: Think about the generation immediately younger or older than you. What do you understand least about them — and what can you learn from them?

~~~~~~~~~~

I think the idea of what I understand least about 20-somethings in this day and age is a misgnomer.  As “with-it” as I try to be as a budding internet marketer, I barely understand them at all.  Here’s a few of the things I just don’t get.  Duck face, tights as pants, Ugg’s, Short shorts and voluminous sweatshits as a fashion statement, the faces they make on SnapChat, SnapChat, leaving the house in your pajamas, being SOO glued to your cell phone that you don’t look up when you cross the street.  Mostly though, it’s the sense of entitlement so many people this age seem to have.

Let’s expand.  

Image-Duck face.  Whoever looked in the mirror making that face and said, “Holy Crap!  That’s hot!  I’m gonna start a new trend with that,” should be drug out in the street and beaten.  Guess what ladies?  You are not cute when you do this.  In fact, you look really dumb.

-Tights as pants.  Sweetheart, if I wanted to see that much of your anatomy, we’d be in a relationship.  As a self-professed “fat-girl” I’m not one for body shaming, but I also know what doesn’t look good.  My thought is, people should dress for their body type.  And honestly, unless I missed a memo somewhere, Camel Toe has been on the list of fashion faux pa’s for a REALLY long time.

-Ugg Boots.  I know they’re warm.  I know they’re comfy.  I also know I don’t have the most amazing taste in all things fashion, but those have got to be the most hideous footwear on the face of the planet.  Why??  Why?

-Booty Shorts and Oversized Sweatshirts.  If you’re hot, lose the sweatshirt.  If you’re cold, put on some pants.  But don’t you dare wear booty shorts and a sweatshirt so you can show off your butt, then complain because you’re cold.  Especially around here.  This is Oregon hunny, it’s rains here!

-SnapChat.  Before you say anything, yes, I have a SnapChat account.  I don’t think I’ve every actually sent a SnapChat.  I just don’t get it.  It’s not any faster than sending a text message.  I can write on those too.  What’s the big deal.  Maybe I just need to learn the program better.  But honestly, I still don’t really see the point.  Maybe I just don’t have that many pictures that I need to comment on before sending it to my friends.

-Pajamas as clothes.  Do you have any idea of how slobby you look?  For goodness sake, take some pride in how you present yourself.  The impression you’re making by shopping in your pajama pants is NOT a good one.  And besides, is it really that hard to put on a pair of pants??  Real pants?

-The Head Down Generation.  I call this, “The Zombie Zone.”  When you are so engrossed in your mobile devise that you can’t be bothered to look before you cross the street, that’s dangerous.  I work at a University, so I see this more often than not, and being a Media professional, I am contributing to the content these people are staring at, but for goodness sake, that blog post, tweet, SnapChat, email, text message isn’t worth getting hit by a car!  I just don’t understand how people can have so little concern for their own safety.  Pay attention, there’s more than just crazy drivers out there!

-Entitlement.  Last time I checked, the world didn’t owe anyone anything.  Just because you’ve never been told no before doesn’t mean that trend will continue for the rest of your life.  Things (education, jobs, etc) will not be handed to you on a silver platter.  You need to work for it.  And guess what?  Working is hard!  And it sucks!  And you’re not going to like it!!  That’s why they call it work.  Welcome to being an adult.  Welcome to real life!  Oh, and another thing.  Complaining about it won’t get you anywhere either.  You know the saying, “The squeeky wheel gets the grease?”  Well, that’s true, sometimes it does, but before, and most of the time for a while after, people hate the squeek.  I deal with a lot of squeeks and they make me angry.  It’s one of the reasons I take so many vacations.  So I don’t go insane.

~~~~~~~~~~

What can I learn from the older crowd??  

If my somewhat older girlfriends are any indication, I’m going to learn that this is when you enjoy your children.  Because you’re almost done with them and they already think they don’t need you.

If my parents are any indication, I’m gonna learn that life doesn’t get any easier or any slower.  That this is the time you start getting really sick of it all.  And that now is when you start wishing you’d made different choices in life.

ImageFrom my grandparents, I’d probably learn that eventually, life slows down, so you better like that person you’re with a whole lot.  Because you’re gonna be stuck with them.  All day.  Every day.  This is the time you should take long walks, sleep in and garden in the morning sun because now you’ve got the time to embrace nature and the beauty of it all where before, all you had time for was figuring out how to run faster and get more done in a day.  Read a good book, snuggled up in a comfy chair, just because you can.  Spend the day in your pajamas (as long as you don’t go shopping) because you’ve earned it.  You’ve raised your kids, retired from your job and done your time as a responsible adult.  

I’ve heard it said that, “youth is wasted on the young.”  I can imagine that’s true.  I don’t consider myself to be a particularly old person, but some days… man, I just feel ancient!  Those times when it’s been rush, rush, rush since you rolled out of bed.  I discovered long ago that I, personally, require eight hours of sleep every night in order to function properly.  This makes for, unfortunately, leaving friends earlier than they’d like.  I’ve told them repeatedly, “I am an old lady trapped in a woman’s body…”  They just laugh it off and wish me a good night.  But I can tell they wish I could stay longer.  When we’re young, we don’t appreciate the ability to thrive on two hours of sleep.  Some days, I wish I still had that.  

If you could go back to your 20’s, knowing what you know now… would you?  I guess that’s a post for another time.

 

Leave a Reply

