Making the Right Decisions Without Anyone’s Permission

I just got home from seeing Alexis Ohanian, co-founder of Reddit on one of his book tour stops in Oregon.  First off, I have to say, sometimes, I’m a terrible nerd.  The first time I was ever on Reddit was to get the address for the above link.  Why did I go to this talk then, you ask?  Because I’m a social media junky, that’s why.  The only reason I don’t blog a billion times a day is because I’m not that original and I’d run out of context very quickly.  I love writing, but I’m not all that good a fiction, so I generally stick to blogging.  There’s just something about watching the words spread out across my screen and knowing that my fingers put them there that for some reason makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something.

Anyway, Alexis was great!  If you get a chance to see him, I highly recommend it.  His book, Without Their Permission, sells for $20 at the event and he’ll sign it for you afterwords.  Good deal, right??  He’s funny, articulate and nerdy.  Three of my personal favorite things.  He tells a little of his background, talks about when he and co-Founder, Steve Huffman started Reddit, then goes on to be super inspirational about following your dreams and just getting out there, even if you don’t know what you’re doing.

The entire talk suddenly struck home for me at the very end.  He said that back when he was playing a lot of video games, you had a finite number of lives and he noticed that he always tried harder when he didn’t have any lives left.  He went on to ask why most people don’t do that in real life.  Here we are, with no lives left and we just skate along doing the minimal amount to keep us content.  Not even happy, just content.  It made me realize that some of the choices I’ve made in my life were just that, minimal and that some of my recent decisions were definitely the right ones.  Yes, I’m starting a new path, yes, it will be a lot of hard work and I may have no social time between that and my job, but I WANT this!  It’s been a long time since I’ve wanted anything this bad and I have to say, it feels great!

Thank you, Alexis Ohanian for visiting Corvallis, and for making me realize I’d made the right decision.

Leave a Reply

