Promotion Pending

Backstory: Five years ago, I started working at my current job.  I was hired as a temp to work the front desk in the office.  Six months later, I was officially hired on.  About a year after that, I was promoted to another job classification because I’d taken on more responsibility. When RC became the boss, a little over three years ago, my job duties drastically shifted toward more media inclined tasks.  I loved this!  In November of 2013, I was promoted again, to reflect these new media job duties, but not as high as the office wanted me to go.  Because of this, I decided to pursue my Masters Degree in Internet Marketing.

I obtained this degree on March 6th and am now awaiting the arrival of my official diploma.  Now that I am officially over qualified for my job, when a new opportunity comes my way; I apply for it.  This happened a few weeks ago and I informed my office that I’d applied for a different position.  They freaked!

They immediately started the promotion process to the same level as the job I’d applied for, asking me if they could push it through, would I reconsider my leaving. I told them that while I wasn’t actively seeking other employment, I had to do what was right for me.

Since then, they’ve processed the paperwork and scheduled my desk audit. But, the other job has also called to advance me to the next phase in the hiring process, so now, I’m in a game of see who can get what accomplished faster.

Stay tuned to find out whether I get promoted or take the new job…

3 thoughts on “Promotion Pending

Leave a Reply

